East Nashville High alumni Association


To persevere in the recognition of worthy young people by providing scholarships to
deserving graduates of East Nashville High School, East Literature Magnet School,
East Nashville Magnet School and their descendants.

To preserve memorabilia, documents, trophies and historical records of East Nashville High School,
East Literature Magnet School and East Nashville Magnet School

To perpetuate pride in East Nashville High School, East Literature Magnet School,
East Nashville Magnet School and its alumni.
The seed for the present East Nashville High School Alumni Association was planted in the spring of 1977. As Mary Medearis Granstaff, a Metro Principal, and Polly Sheldon, Administrative Assistant at the Board of Education Central Office, talked about their happy days at East Nashville High School, the idea of an "All Class Reunion" came into being. A steering committee was formed with Mary Granstaff elected chairperson, Polly Sheldon, secretary and Howard Murff, treasurer. Other members of the "All Class Reunion" committee were Ruth Allen, Larry Biggs, Betty Bibb, Tommie Lou Boles, Price Carney, George Cate, Bob Farris, Sue Howell, Troy Lynn, Hilary Martin, Ellis Martin, Frances Southerland, John Steinhauer, Peggy Rush, Tandy Wilson and Marshal Whitley.

The first reunion for all graduating classes was held on May 27, 1978. Approximately twelve hundred former Gray Eagles attended the event; Mayor Richard Fulton was named Honorary Chairman, and special music was provided by "Dell Wood" (Adelaide Hendricks Hazelwood). William H. Oliver, Robert G. Neill, J.H. Windrow, W.T. Harris and Joe Wiggins, all former principals, attended, as did Jimmy Armistead, who was the first athletic coach at ENHS.

The present East Nashville High School Alumni Association had its origin with that first reunion. On May 15, 1989, the Tennessee Secretary of State signed the charter and the ENHS Alumni Association was incorporated. A Board of Directors was established to oversee the business of the association. Past presidents are George Cate, Ray Bowles, Joe Clifton, John Steinhauer, Reuther Boyd and Beverly Kyle Shaw. Today, our association has 29 directors.

Our Alumni Association has the reputation of being one of the more active, solid alumni associations in the United States. In 1981, a scholarship fund was established in honor of past principal William Henry Oliver. The first recipient was Loretta Anne Towe, and each year since, additional scholarships have been awarded. Today, the scholarship fund has received more than $100,000 due to generous contributions of alumni, sales of the Dear Joe booklet written by Mr. Oliver, prints of East High School by Phil Ponder, and the very able leadership of Edith Perry in investing these funds. The Eagle, the publication of the Alumni Association, co-edited by Jane Eakes and Doris Swift, is mailed to 5,000 alumni in all 50 states and 4 foreign countries. An important part of each reunion has been the honoring of outstanding alumni. Past recipients of the Outstanding Alumni Award are Price Carney, Hilary Martin, Howard Murff, Mary Granstaff and Dianne Petty. Posthumous awards have been presented to the families of Fred Forehand and Sue Kyle Garrett,

On December 10, 1996 the Metropolitan Board of Education authorized the use of the "Gillespie House" (known to many as the Malone House) as the "East Alumni House". The house is located on the East Campus, and houses trophies, memorabilia, and historical records. Today the East High Alumni Association is strong. Its members are dedicated to the preservation of the history of ENHS, to the educational goals of future generations by providing scholarships, and to perpetuating pride in East Nashville High School and its graduates.
© East Nashville High Alumni Association - All Rights Reserved.
P.O. Box 218043, Nashville, TN 37221 | Email ENHAA